495 Houston Restaurants

015: Jax Grill

In Bellaire on January 22, 2010 at 1:39 am

Chips and Queso

Who doesn’t love a place where you can get chicken fried steak and queso? I’m familiar with the Jax location in the Heights, which I love for its big porch and live Zydeco music. I didn’t know there was one in Bellaire and ended up there for lunch after a doctor’s appointment in the area.

The queso here is made from white cheese, which is a nice change of pace from every other place in town. It may be my favorite queso, actually. Well, at least in my top five.

Chicken Fried Steak

As for the chicken fried steak, it’s just what you would expect. Nice thin beef, not too much batter, and smothered in gravy. Unfortunately, my gravy wasn’t quite hot enough, leaving it on that uncomfortable cusp between liquid and solid. Yeesh. I’m hoping I caught them on a bad day, because I’ve had much better luck with the place on Shepherd.

Okay, so I’m dying to know: What are your favorite places in Houston to get queso?

Jax Grill on Urbanspoon

  1. Escalante’s also has white queso and it’s awesome. Definitely my fave in town

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

