495 Houston Restaurants

018: Shisha’s

In Westchase on January 27, 2010 at 3:43 am

Gyro Plate

This is, hands down, one of the coolest places I’ve been to in a long time. What made it even cooler is that my friend Gina and I happened upon it by accident. Driving by, we saw “coffee” and “gelato” on a green awning, so we U-turned, parked, and were greeted with “kabob” on the other end.

Turns out it’s a hookah cafe that also sells Medditeranian food, Mexican Coca-Cola (hooray!), Italian gelato, and Lebanese herbal tea. Oh, did I mention that it has free wi-fi? While I don’t smoke, I love hookah bars for their relaxed attitude. It’s like a coffeehouse with more interesting people watching.

Gina and I ordered a gyro plate to split, then spent a couple of hours doing homework. An Arabic music video channel on the flat screens made for the perfect ambient noise. It was a nice place to get things done, and I really loved that they let us start a tab. We didn’t get our check until we were ready to leave.

Rose and Strawberry Lavender Gelato

We had some gelato before we left. Gina got chocolate and coconut, which were both very good. I opted for a couple of more unusual flavors. The strawberry lavender was a little to sicky-sweet for me, but the rose flavor was perfect. It tasted like petals were melting on my tongue.

Shisha Express & Deli on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

